Workwear: Polka Dot Button-up and Yellow Sweater

21 Nov

I love mixing stripes and polka dots, prints and graphics, and plaids and florals (ok the last one might be a stretch for me). In this outfit, these prints go together perfectly for a couple of reasons. Let me explain why:

1) Same color scheme. When mixing prints, try to stay in the same color vicinity. If you’re wearing a bright color like yellow, it might not be favorable to also throw on a loud red or fuchsia. Stick with one vibrant color and then mesh everything with it. Here, yellow and black/grey/white take main stage. 
IMG_3599
2) Large-scale/small-scale. Try and wear one print that is small than the other one. Two large-scale prints don’t work well. If the polka dots were just as graphically loud as the bold stripes, they would be competing with and not complimenting each other. 

IMG_3603I’d love to see what you come up with when you mix prints! Send your pictures to joodlesdoodles@gmail.com and I’ll feature you in an upcoming style post!

IMG_3604Shirt: Loft (similar) – Sweater: Marshall’s (similar here and here) – Pants: Target – Belt: Target (similar) – Flats: Target

 

One Response to “Workwear: Polka Dot Button-up and Yellow Sweater”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Style / Mixing Prints | Joodles Doodles - 05.5.2013

    […] weeks ago I asked my readers to send in their mixing prints styled outfits. I was featuring my own outfit where I paired a polka dot shirt with a striped sweater and wondered what you guys could come up […]

Leave a Reply

