Dinner / Roasted Asparagus

24 Oct

Last week, Bradley and I celebrated our second anniversary. Typically, he likes to take me out to a beautiful dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. Usually, I like to make him his favorite meal. So this year we did both. Since October 8th fell on a Tuesday, he took me out to Travinia after work that night. And the following weekend, I made him a steak dinner. (compromising!)

IMG_1628IMG_3599

I’ve always had a bit of trouble making creative tasty vegetable dishes. I can usually plan the “meat and potatoes” side of things quite well but fall short when it comes to vegetable sides.

*Enter Roasting*

Have you ever roasted vegetables? I tried roasting potatoes and carrots two weeks ago. It was amazing!! So much better than boiling (which seems to be my go to).

IMG_5449Roasting. Who knew? It’s so simple. Pretty much any vegetable can be easily tossed in olive oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper and thrown in the oven (I use the word “thrown” loosely). So I tried a roasted vegetable for our steak dinner. Turned out so well. Eons better than my previous method of boiling 3 minutes, throwing them in an ice bath to stop the cooking and them warming them with “sauce” in a pan. They tended to end up over cooked and…not tasty.

3 Steps to Easy and Delicious Roasted Asparagus

Step 1: Aluminum Foil over any pan (easy clean up), drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and add any herbs and garlic that you desire. I used a couple of finely chopped garlic cloves here.IMG_1089

Step 2: Roast at ˚350 for about 30 minutes. IMG_0056

Step 3: Serve with your favorite meal to your favorite person. It’s the best way to enjoy a dinner like this. πŸ™‚
IMG_3687

2 Responses to “Dinner / Roasted Asparagus”

  1. Michelle 24.24.2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! Lucky you getting to celebrate twice, I hope you had a romantic loved up time πŸ™‚

    • Jill (joodlesdoodles) 25.25.2013 at 2:56 pm #

      Thanks! We had a absolutely wonderful time both nights. He’s sure a special man. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

