Sharpie Therapy / 1

22 Oct

Today I’m starting a new segment on the blog. It’ll be here weekly and it’s called Sharpie Therapy.

sharpietherapy1What is Sharpie Therapy? It’s a way to write out your thoughts and feelings, taking time to process them. It’s about physically writing out God’s truth, a good quote or song lyrics and bringing those words to life. It’s a great way to look back and see what God has taught you. It’s a way to figure out how you’re feeling and come to a place of peace. It’s a visual representation of a thought process.

Sharpie Therapy started about a year ago. I’ve always loved drawing with sharpies as you can see here, logos and lettering are my thing. I love the precision and the vibrancy. However, recently I’ve used this love to express feelings and thoughts by writing them out. Distinct letters, different fonts and bold thoughts. Here are a few pieces I worked on.  (black cardstock with silver Sharpie)

(Better Together by Jack Johnson)

IMG_1234

(potential Christmas card)

IMG_0171

(an amazing Psalm)
IMG_0216

(Psalm with emphasis)
IMG_6704

Next week I’ll show you another project I’ve been working on, larger scale black sharpie on white paper. It’s more abstract and relies more on my own free-flowing thoughts as opposed to another person’s words.

For now though, if you’d like to make one of these your own, contact me at joodlesdoodles@gmail.com and I’ll mail it to you! In addition, if there is a verse or a quote you’d like to see up here in the future or you’d like to make your own, email me and I’ll bring it in to production.

Thanks for tagging along on this new series!

3 Responses to “Sharpie Therapy / 1”

  1. Sue Mitchell Russell 22.22.2013 at 5:33 pm #

    This is an awesome therapy, Jill. So glad you could “pass it along” to Grace at this time. It is a healing ministry at this time. You ministered to your brother, as well. love you, Mom

  2. Mamie 22.22.2013 at 11:59 pm #

    I love this, and I agree that it is a tremendously helpful therapy. I’m inspired by both you and Grace to bring my calligraphy up to the next level.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sharpie Therapy / 6 | Joodles Doodles - 07.7.2014

    […] Sharpie Therapy and don’t know what I’m talking about, check out my introductory post here! This week I’ve drawn out some of my  favorite J.R.R. Tolkien quotes. His birthday was last […]

Leave a Reply

