Weekend Recap: Mother’s Day

13 May

This past weekend, I was able to spend time with Mom. We drove up to Penn State (where my little sis goes to college) and meet up with Mom, Dad, Beka, and Skip. B and I drove up and back in one day, whew. It was a great visit! So glad to be able to see Mom on Mother’s Day weekend!

Friday night, B and I spent preparing gifts, flowers, and food for the next day. My husband made a great bacon, spinach, cheddar quiche (recipe coming later this week)! While he was in the kitchen I put together some flowers,
mother'sday1
as well as wrapped a gift box for Mom. This box included a soft pink shirt, picture book of Paris and a cute macaroon card. She loved Paris the time she and Dad got to go and this box referenced that! 🙂

mother'sday2The contents of this box were special, but the wrapping was just as fun to give to her. I wrapped a box in brown paper and decided it needed a little color. So using a baby carrot and some red paint I had in the cupboard, I stamped out some polka dots.

mother'sday3After polka dotting the wrapping, I tied it all up with some candy striped string for a complete packaged look!

mother'sday4Remember those Mother’s Day cards I was working on last week? Well I narrowed it down to two that I wanted to give to Mom. They were both so cute. 😉

IMG_1285Saturday morning, B and I started the trek up to PA. The forecast was rain, but we didn’t expect the torrential downpours. (the pictures don’t do it justice)

IMG_5261 Finally we arrived! Mom was packing us a picnic lunch, which we ate outside in a local park under the pavilion. She makes great sandwiches. After that, Beka finished her morning shift and joined us for some games and chill time.

IMG_5993We played Uno, Tsuro, and Catch Phrase. Catch Phrase is my favorite. 🙂

mother'sday5Our family times always revolve around food and games. Or at least that’s the way it feels. Because the next adventure we had was walking around Penn State with ice cream in our hands! The Berkey Creamery is not to be missed if you find yourself headed through State College, PA. I had an amazing bittersweet mint shake.

IMG_7989All the dairy for their ice cream comes from cows on their campus. Beka is working in the barns this summer and during her shift that morning had milked several hundred cows!

IMG_2974
I think we are just the cutest.IMG_9619
Finally Mother’s Day Brunch began. (count it, yes, it was the third meal in a 6 hour time span.) We served B’s quiche, my lemon blueberry muffins and Skip’s fruit salad. Delicious!

mother'sday6We definitely missed my older sister and her family.

mother'sday7It was a wonderful day with Mom!

IMG_0672What did you do this past weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

