Weekend Recap: Running Analogies

6 May

I didn’t have time to workout this weekend but I did have time to think about running and I’m excited to get back on the road today. Here’s my view in the airport as B and I were travelling this weekend.

IMG_9933

I was reading through 1 Corinthians 9 and stopped at verse 24-27 to mull it over it.

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.”

Takeaways from this passage:

  • Don’t just run, run to win. Run to be the best. Run to the finish line and do it with purpose. Similarly, run the race of salvation and be so excited that you pick people up on the way! That’s what happens when I sign up for a race. I want others to join me, because it’s so much more fun to run with companions. Find people to run the Race with and bring them along side you.
  • Running takes a lot of training, self-control and discipline. You won’t just be able to run a marathon the day after you start training. Exercise restraint, put the proper things into your body and give it the strength to run. Practically in your walk, this includes listening to the edifying things, being around uplifting people and reading the Word daily.
  • You have a purpose in this world. Don’t be selfish and only pursue your own interests or goals. Reach outside yourself and help others train. There’s a time to train and a time to run. A time to pray and a time to live out your beliefs by your actions.
  • Make your fleshly desires a slave to your will. To run well you need to discipline your body and make it work when it doesn’t want to. In the same way, you have the power to serve the Lord wholeheartedly and earthly desires need to take a back seat. Let others see you as an ambassador for the Lord. Be a good representative and run a strong race.

I love how the Bible has running and racing analogies. God knows how to communicated with me in a way I’ll understand!

One Response to “Weekend Recap: Running Analogies”

  1. Bam 07.7.2013 at 12:33 pm #

    These are my favorite verses in the Bible, aside from Genesis 24 😉 I love reading your take on it!

Leave a Reply

