Event Planning / Summer Gala

2 May

So I’m going to plan a party. Well, it’s not a party as much as it’s a Gala. And by Gala, I mean fundraising event for students. Let me start over. As I’ve mentioned before, I work for an organization called Generation Joshua (GenJ). We teach high school students government and civics education.

Each summer we hold three week-long camps. The students are immersed in a congressional scenario where the play senators and representatives and even have the opportunity to run for president! It’s pretty fun to teach them the basics of how government works and watch them put those principles to use.

During the week, we hold a large fundraising event where the “Congressmen” lobby companies and organizations and ask them to contribute to their “re-election campaigns”. (P.S. We have our own currency here at GenJ) This event is one of the highlights of the week. The students dress up in formal attire and lobby large organizations for money all while in a fabulously decorated setting with delectable food!

That’s where I come in. I’m the main event planner for this event at all three camps. At the beginning of the year, months and months before the summer has arrived, we sit down and discuss what kind of theme we are looking into, decorations to further that theme and food in that same vein for the event. I have to say this is one of the most fun times of the year for me. I love event planning and getting to do it as part of my job, woohoo!

Every week through the end of June, you’ll be able to follow my Gala planning, prepping, and throwing plans. I’m taking lots of pictures so you won’t miss a thing! You’ll be able to see my decorations, Pinterest board, brainstorming style and execution when the day finally arrives! I’m so excited to share all of this with you. Until next week, I’ll leave you with a picture of our theme! 😉

ac401e6480f4a8f02fbd17a84b56c749(realsimple.com)

Any theme guesses?

6 Responses to “Event Planning / Summer Gala”

  1. Joanna 02.2.2013 at 4:18 pm #

    I can’t help squealing of excitement! Tropical?? It looks amazing:) Sooooooo excited to see you again at camp!! Just one more month, before orange comes back in full blast;)

  2. Mamie Rose 02.2.2013 at 4:19 pm #

    Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Event Planning / Gala Planning 2 | Joodles Doodles - 09.9.2013

    […] planning a large Gala event for summer camp. You can catch up by reading last week’s post where I introduced the organization I work for and the purpose of this Gala. Let me talk a little […]

  2. Event Planning / Gala: Tissue Paper Flowers | Joodles Doodles - 15.15.2013

    […] and have the privilege of planning a large party for the students this summer. Catch up here and here for more […]

  3. Event Planning / Gala Centerpieces | Joodles Doodles - 24.24.2013

    […] I definitely want to update you on how my preparations for the Gala are coming. Catch up on all my previous preparations here, here and here! […]

  4. Back on line | Joodles Doodles - 02.2.2013

    […] you a Gala. And well, we had a Gala. Remember, I talked about the centerpieces, flowers, theme, and overview of camp? The first week in June, our first camp was held in Virginia and was a smashing success. The […]

Leave a Reply

