Extroverts, Introverts and Myers-Briggs

16 Apr

Yesterday, I learned that B and I might both be Introverts. Not just introverts though, we are both (if categorized correctly) INFJs. If you are familiar with the Myers-Briggs personality test then you’ll know what I’m talking about. If you know about Introvert/Extrovert tendencies then you know that Introverts gain energy and recharge by themselves and Extrovert’s energy comes from being around people.

extroverts introverts

INFJs are a rare breed of the 16 different personality combinations. Each letter is based on mode of operation. There are four categories and you will prefer one function over the other in each category. (taken from Personality Page)

  • Flow of Energy
  1. Do you receive energy or stimulation from within yourself? (Introverted)
  2. Or do you receive energy or stimulation from external sources? (Extroverted)
  • Ingest Information
  1. Do you trust your five senses when taking in information? (Sensing)
  2. Or do you rely on your instincts when absorbing information? (iNtuitive)
  • Make Decisions
  1. Do you decide things based on logic and objective considerations? (Thinking)
  2. Or do you decide things based on your personal subjective value system? (Feeling)
  • External World Interactions
  1. Are you organized and purposeful, more comfortable with scheduled, structured environments? (Judging)
  2. Or are you flexible and diverse, more comfortable with open casual environments? (Perceiving)

Putting my answers together, I get my energy from being alone. I rely on my intuition and instincts when processing information. I make decisions based on my personal value system. I function best in an organized, purposeful and well structured environment.

Introvert, iNtuitive, Feeling, Judging = INFJ

I am pretty fascinated with this study of personalities. I love discovering the ways I act and why I respond to things this way or that way. If you can’t tell, I’ve spent a lot of time learning about my personality type and it has greatly benefited my ability to interact with people, function in a work environment and understand my behaviors at home.  There aren’t many things I love more than thinking about deep concepts, planning or organizing an event, and being by my self with a sketch pad and sharpies. I’m an INFJ.

aarontcaycedokimura3(http://infjoe.wordpress.com/)

(initially this was going to be a weekend recap post because I missed yesterday with the I Love Bloglovin’ Link up, but it turned into this post. Join me on Bloglovin’ [click the button on my side bar] and tomorrow for my weekend recap!)

3 Responses to “Extroverts, Introverts and Myers-Briggs”

  1. Amy Patton 16.16.2013 at 8:54 pm #

    Hey- from another INFJ! We are a pretty cool rare breed if I do say so myself. Amy

    • Jill (joodlesdoodles) 17.17.2013 at 6:04 am #

      I agree with that Amy! Also, INFJ to INFJ, we are an often misunderstood breed. 🙂

  2. alisonwilhelm77 08.8.2013 at 10:36 am #

    Reblogged this on alisonwilhelm77.

Leave a Reply

