Healthy Living. Take 12,523….

11 Apr

This post could have also been called, “turning over yet another new leaf.” Do you feel like that’s a constant problem when it comes to healthy eating and exercising? I often have resolutions that last one day. Or I get caught up in the web of Pins that promise abs in a month or a fat free body in a week. Things don’t just change over night people!

This is one of my favorite pins I just saw on Pinterest the other day:

f8f7301e947860aa376003dbe53ebec6It’s true. You won’t lose the weight you want in a day. You can’t expect that you will when it took more than one day to become the person you are now. I’m learning that it’s a slow and steady pace to healthy living. If you go to hard to fast either you’ll hurt yourself or it wont stick. Just like this next pin says, you won’t derail your diet by eating McDonalds once, but you also won’t get healthy just be eating one salad.

317c0fa4357363e6ba18eb1c41265b55

 

The past few weeks I’ve been thinking about this and I feel like you have to actually have a change in your mind when deciding to become more healthy. If you want real change in your body you must change how you think. If you’re thinking, “I should have picked the side salad” as you’re munching on a cheeseburger, it’s going to take more than an apple at dinner to change your lifestyle.

My husband has been very supporting as I’ve been thinking about how I want to change our eating habits and how I feel the need to work out more. He says, “I love  you just the way you are and I think you are beautiful. However, if you want to make a change I will support you and help you achieve your goals.” 🙂

So this week, starting last Saturday, I’ve begun:

  • Drinking at least 1.5 Liters of water a day
  • Eating at least 1 serving of fruit and 1 of vegetables at each meal
  • Alternating running and 1 hour strength training every other day

Maybe these are things you already do or maybe they seem so far out of your reach, but introducing fruits, vegetables and water into your diet will keep you full and satisfied with good food and working out, running or strength training every day will start you on a journey to healthy living. I promised myself that I couldn’t weigh in until I’d completed one week of this regiment. So I’m excited for Saturday morning!

Start out with small changes. You don’t have to run a marathon tomorrow (though I would like to in the near future). How are you working toward healthy living? What do you think of my 3 recent small steps?

 

4 Responses to “Healthy Living. Take 12,523….”

  1. Bradley 11.11.2013 at 4:18 pm #

    You can do it!

    *\o/*

    (Those are pom-poms. )

  2. willrunfortequila 11.11.2013 at 4:24 pm #

    Those are 3 very impactful steps everyone should take!

  3. lydia sellers 11.11.2013 at 5:04 pm #

    this was very encouraging. you can do it……health for everyone!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthify Update | Joodles Doodles - 30.30.2013

    […] take a look at my 3 goals from the last post and see how they are workin’ out for me. (take that back: Let’s see how I’m […]

Leave a Reply

