Weekend Recap: new burger joint

8 Apr

This weekend revolved around relaxation, spending time with B, and food. Friday afternoon/evening, I texted B on the way home from work and asking what he felt like for dinner (he has great ideas!) and texted back one word: Melt. My eyes lit up. Melt Gourmet Cheeseburgers was a new (year old) local place we’d been wanting to try for a while. Great idea Babe!

Needless to say, I was pretty excited. We both are big fans of local burger joints. Well, burgers in general but we have found some great little places close by in the past year. Our top burger places in order of tastiness, Market Burger (Purcellville, VA), Red Robin and Johnny Rockets. That’s my list anyway. I’ll write another post about Market Burger because they deserve it. 

Back to Melt. It smelled great walking in. (off to a good start) We placed our order right away which was great for a Friday night. We ended up waiting about 20+ minutes for our order but were still excited to get home and break open the bag. B and I kept shooing each others hands away from the bag on the drive back. Gah, it smelled good!

Finally home we opened the brown paper bag and found lovely packaged boxes with our burgers inside. Ok, maybe it was a little grease soaked. But sometimes that is promising!

IMG_3142IMG_1142They make their buns in-house ever day (bonus). The burger was thick and juicy, the condiments crisp and the bun tasted fresh.

IMG_5943However, altogether, it was kinda meh. It had all the makings to be a tasty burger. But B and I both felt the same way. Good but nothing special and being the burger connoisseurs that we are, we’ve had better.

IMG_4813 IMG_6319It didn’t taste as great as we had hoped but was a fun experience over all and I’m glad we checked it out. Market Burger is still the way to go in my book. The onion rings, however, were amazing especially with the balsamic dipping sauce they provided. Crunchy, tangy goodness!

IMG_0682Saturday, B planned a walk and movie for us. He’s so thoughtful and asked what I’d like to see. It was between and animated flick and Oz. I’d heard good reviews from my friends about Oz the Great and Powerful, so we checked it out.

IMG_1938 IMG_3725I was a beautiful day for a walk and the movie was pretty good too. Great characters and some character development. There were a few holes in the story but the scenery was bright and the story cute. Overall, I was happy 🙂

All in all it was a nice relaxing weekend with my man. How about you? What’d you do?

 

 

 

One Response to “Weekend Recap: new burger joint”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Recap: BurgerFi | Joodles Doodles - 29.29.2013

    […] and I tried out the new burger joint in our town Saturday. If you didn’t know this (see last burger post), we are big burger people. And by that I mean we love burgers not that we look like big, big […]

Leave a Reply

