Product review: Map My Run

4 Apr

I want to share with you one of my favorite workout apps. Map My Run is an app that I’ve used on my iPhone for several years now. I turn it on every time I run and basically it maps where I go, how fast I get there and how long I run. This is first interface you will see. 
IMG_9657 (1)

Here’s the menu. From here you can record your current run, log a past run, or view a variety of other options. The social media aspect that’s integrated into this app is pretty awesome. It will send you notifications when your friends who are using the same app complete a run. I can also see most recent runs that others have completed, including their length, time and date. 
IMG_9657 (2)
Below you can see what the screen looks like as I’m recording a run. I actually allows me to find my way around as I’m running (in case I’m charting a new course). It also shows me mileage, total run time, and splits. Great features for sure!

IMG_9657 (4)If I run and don’t have my phone or don’t record it as I go, I can always log a workout later just by plugging in the facts. One thing I forgot to mention before is that if you tend to run the same route during your workouts you can select a past route and it will compare your current time with your previous times so you can measure your progress!

IMG_9657 (3)
Below you see a list of the routes I’ve run. It’s really handy for keeping track of your mileage for the week and view places you’ve run in the past.

IMG_9657

Do you have a favorite running or workout app? I know people who use both Map My Run and the Nike app and find this one to be more accurate. Thoughts?

5 Responses to “Product review: Map My Run”

  1. Bradley 04.4.2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Grat review!

  2. Bradley 04.4.2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Sigh. I mean “great” review.

  3. thibstars 04.4.2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Nice review, that’s true! Do you know Runkueeper? What are your thoughts on that app?

    • Jill (joodlesdoodles) 05.5.2013 at 9:43 am #

      I’ve looked in to Runkeeper. It is very similar to Map My Run in its run keeping process, interface and accuracy. I only want to use Map My Run to keep track of my mileage and times. I suppose if I was also looking to keep track of food intake or another form of exercise, I might use a different app.

      • thibstars 05.5.2013 at 11:58 am #

        Yep, besides map tracking Runkeeper is also recording data about your performances, so if you look at it that way you can tell that it is a bit more multifunctional :).

Leave a Reply

