DIY Sharpie Roll-up Case

8 Mar

For as long as I can remember I’ve loved coloring, doodling and drawing. In the past couple years, I’ve focused on using sharpies to draw logos on mixed media paper. I have a couple of books now filled with sharpied candy, fast food, movie, and cartoon logos. I also love lettering and sharpies give me the vibrant color and precision I’m looking for when I draw. Here’s a Pinterest board full of my drawings.

The problem I encountered was that I had so many markers, pens and other implements that I couldn’t carry them anywhere. I couldn’t find what I wanted in any store or shop online so I decided to make something to fit my needs. I bought about a 1/4 yard of black felt and 2 feet of leather cord.

The felt I folded in on each side and sewed up little pockets. Each slot held one pen. I stitched each pocket with black thread (by hand because I don’t own a sewing machine yet). It took quite a while but it’s completely worth it. I now have a case to carry all my markers and pens. They are different sizes to accommodate various implements. The leather cord I used isn’t shown. After the case is rolled up, I tie the leather around it in a knot for travelling.

image_3image_8 image_5
image_7
Here the sharpie case is rolled up and is sitting next to the sketch book I use for all my drawings.
image_6
The two drawings below are some of my most recent pictures. 
image_2
image_1
I like to play around with my Joodles Doodles logo. Here is one interpretation. If I were to get business cards or in the future if I create a brand, I will use one of these for my product tags.

image
What do you think? I know some of you have been wanting to see this for a while. So this was a quick tutorial on how to make a case to carry around sharpies, pens, pencils or whatever else your creative self might want to transport.

4 Responses to “DIY Sharpie Roll-up Case”

  1. Rachel Heffington 08.8.2013 at 6:17 pm #

    ooooh! Been wanting to see this forever! ❤ Awesome project, jill. Thanks for the how-to! 🙂

  2. Abigail C 11.11.2013 at 1:26 pm #

    Very cool! Your lines are incredibly straight, I’m very impressed that you did all that by hand.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vacation Recap pt. 2 | Joodles Doodles: The Art of Creating New Things - 12.12.2013

    […] in my sketch pad with my sharpies while lying around on my […]

Leave a Reply

