New Office: Seating Area

26 Feb

A few weeks ago, I moved into a new office and ventured to make it a simply lovely place to work. It had to be peaceful, quiet, well-lit, needed to seem bigger than it was, and be a place I wanted to work in everyday. In the last post I featured my desk. It incorporated funny pictures of me and my husband, a small plant, slab of wood and burlap pencil holder. Along with two lamps, my office decor was well on its way.

Now on to the seating area. As small as this “closet” of an office is, I still wanted to have a place I could sit, other than my desk, or where other people could sit who came by to chat. The chairs had to be comfortable, the right size for the space, and could not be typical office chairs. I wanted it to feel like a part of a living room that was also appropriate for an office environment.

I also wanted to incorporate more lighting and a small table to hold at least a mug of coffee. Here are pictures of my new sitting area!

I found the two leather chairs from Walmart for $60. Same price as one from Marshall’s or Home Goods.

IMG_7628

The small side table came from Target $40. It’s the perfect height for the chairs and the right size for the space. 
IMG_4393

The clock never found a home in our apartment but it works perfectly on this side table in my office! It’s burlap and I bought it at Target for $8. Also, the small succulents came from Walmart along with the one on my desk for under $3. It’s the perfect pop of green.
IMG_6603Lastly, the small waist basket came from a Bed, Bath and Beyond sale for $4. It’s made of bamboo with a white linen liner.

IMG_6627What do you think of the space?

3 Responses to “New Office: Seating Area”

  1. Bradley 26.26.2013 at 5:14 pm #

    Looks amazing! I love that clock on the table.

  2. Sue Mitchell Russell 26.26.2013 at 10:42 pm #

    I like it. Always want a place where peeps can sit and visit.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Office: Wall Decor | Joodles Doodles: The Art of Creating New Things - 22.22.2013

    […] is the last edition in my New Office series. Here I showed you my desk, and here is my sitting area. Today, we move on to how I’ve decorated the […]

Leave a Reply

