New office: The Desk

25 Jan

A few days ago I mentioned about how I’ve moved I’ve recently moved into a new office. Today, I am going to show you my desk! My entire office is 8’x 14′ (so small!) so I needed to arrange my furniture in such a way that would be both functional and aesthetically pleasing.

I thought about this for days before moving in, because I love coming up with creative solutions and brainstorming. I wanted to include a spot for two chairs and a side table, like a sitting area. The only other piece of furniture that had to fit in was a large book-case. More on these two items later. Today I will show you my desk!

I was looking to create a feeling of warmth, burlap and subtle plant life, inviting and open. I wanted to reference the outdoors without actually building a garden in my office. I wanted to make it a place that people would want to gather without sticking a sofa and bag of Cheetos on the couch. I wanted it to be a peaceful and calm haven in an ever-moving office full of excited individuals with constant trails of ideas.

I love what I’ve created. In the last few days, it has exceeded my expectations. I love my new work space, both quiet and lively, fun and inviting.

IMG_4274

I added succulence to this wood slab that I got from Olive box this month. My pencil cup is made of glass covered in burlap. (A cheap find at Marshall’s!)IMG_5294 IMG_1619

This is the other burlap covered vase that I found at Marshall’s. It is large enough to hold a bouquet!IMG_1793

The burlap lamp on the left side of the picture is my favorite. It’s a perfect compliment to the natural plant and pencil cup.IMG_1822 IMG_2060Stay tuned for more New Office pictures!

 

4 Responses to “New office: The Desk”

  1. Rachel Heffington 25.25.2013 at 9:43 pm #

    Oooooh! Looking good! Love this. 🙂 And it was great seeing you!

  2. Kate 28.28.2013 at 12:10 pm #

    I particularly like the square lampshade 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Office: Seating Area | Joodles Doodles: The Art of Creating New Things - 26.26.2013

    […] seem bigger than it was, and be a place I wanted to work in everyday. In the last post I featured my desk. It incorporated funny pictures of me and my husband, a small plant, slab of wood and burlap pencil […]

  2. New Office: Wall Decor | Joodles Doodles: The Art of Creating New Things - 22.22.2013

    […] is the last edition in my New Office series. Here I showed you my desk, and here is my sitting area. Today, we move on to how I’ve decorated […]

Leave a Reply

