DIY Birthday Package

2 Oct

I love creating new things. Hence the purpose of this entire blog. I especially like making things/gifts for people on their birthdays. I’m not sure, maybe it’s a form of love language. Anyway, last Friday was no different. It was Heather’s birthday the next day and I needed to get something together for her. I know she loves crafty things, Pinterest stuff, looking cute, and interesting jewelry.

I thought about these things on my way into work and planned on running out during lunch grabbing something at Target, signing a card and mailing it before returning. (Yes, Heather is worth it 🙂 ) The only items I had with me were wrapping paper. But by the time I got in work I decided to be more crafty and whip up something she’s love, not just a store bought gift.

This is when I enter my element, constructing things in my mind before I make them with my hands. I searched high and low around the office for inspiration. Figuring out how to manage cute packaging, make it personalized for her and spend as little as possible. I love being resourceful and limiting my creativity. You never know what you can come up with!

I gathered things from around the office (everyone was out except me) and this is what I came up with:

  • a small cardboard box with a lid
  • my wrapping paper
  • gold spray paint
  • stapler
  • double-sided tape
  • manila folder
  • razor blade (used as an X Acto knife)

How To Make a Special Birthday Package

Step 1: Find a font you like and print out recipients name.

Step 2: Flip paper over and shade over the letters with a pencil.

Step 3: Place this paper over manila folder or other cardstock type material and strongly trace around the letters with a pen.

Step 4: Remove top paper and admire lettering on “cardstock”. (My manila folder)

Step 5: Cut out lettering with X-Acto knife.

Step 6: Cover cardboard box and box top with wrapping paper. (use stapler or double sided tape for clean, polished look)

Step 7: Attach cut out letters on box lid with double sided tape.

Step 8: Remove box top, go outside to gravel or a grassy area and spray paint box top. Then remove the letters. (I didn’t realize that the background of the wrapping paper would end up being the same color as the spray paint. Probably should check that next time. You can see her name better in the next picture)

Step 9:  Now the box is completed. I went to Target and only allowed myself $10 to fill the box. I wanted to get some fun, cute things that I knew she’d love. Here’s what I ended up with,

  • ELF liquid lipstick: $1 (my favorite)
  • Note cards: $2.50
  • Flower Hair Accessory: $1.50
  • 3 jewel bracelets: $2
  • White and brown tissue paper (not shown): $.75

Total: $7.75

SCORE!!!

Step 10: Wrap everything up inside the box.

And add a card to the top. This one I printed off here.

My birthday package for Heather was complete. BTW Heather is my amazing youngest sister (sister in law really, but we don’t compare). I ran to the Post Office and was back to work on time.

I love creating things, making things from nothing, and thinking of ways to make peoples day brighter.

One Response to “DIY Birthday Package”

  1. Grace Tate 15.15.2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Oh my goodness. You are amazing. and creative. and thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

